Identity Crisis

Who are you?

Ever notice how we humans go through this adolescent phase of “self-discovery,” and then seem to carry on this interesting idea of defending ourselves by saying, “I am who I am,” or “why can’t you just love me for who I am,” or in some cases, “for what I am?” Some more than others, of course. And when people say it, doesn’t it almost seem to reveal an insecurity of identity more than anything else?

How do you “identify” yourself?

Here’s a thought: suppose we were created in the Image and Likeness of God. When Moses climbed Mount Sainai and met God face-to-face, he asked God (in so many words), “what’s your name?” And God identified Himself this way: “I Am That I Am.”

Rather peculiar name, if you ask me. But notice He didn’t say, “I am who I am,” or “I am what I am.” Both of which are pretty centered around the self. Nope.

“I AM THAT I AM.”

Pretty strongly denotes purpose more than anything else, wouldn’t you agree? And one that extends very much outside of self?

Now, again, suppose you were created in His Image and Likeness. What does THAT tell you?

So get out there and LIVE it!

 

About A. S. Ellis

I am always learning. Always. And that is as it should be.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Identity Crisis

  1. There's a bird says:

    The last time I entered a comment here, I realized at exactly 1:34am the following morning that I had posted something which made no sense at all. However, this does not deter me from sharing my thoughts again.

    I like to think about the implications of being made in the image and likeness of God along with the following: God made us to show forth His goodness and to share with us His everlasting happiness in heaven. How do I show forth not only His image and likeness, but His goodness?

    I do show forth His goodness by the simple fact that I exist, that I exist as Imago Dei, and lastly, I can consciously choose to show forth His goodness by my words, deeds, and actions. Hence, I can LIVE IT !

    …Talk about a gift that is a tremendous responsibility.

  2. Pingback: 3 Ways to Quickly Cure an Identity Crisis « Mental Health Food

A Penny for Your Thoughts?

