Making Excuses…

“An excuse is worse and more terrible than a lie, for an excuse is a lie guarded.” -Pope John Paul II

Now there’s a tough lesson. Golly, does that ever make persevering in a daily autopsy a challenge! Already, no one is as hard on you as you are, and the only way to avoid making your autopsy a daily burden of self-castigation is to make sure that by the end of the day, you’ve got nothing to excuse.

About A. S. Ellis

I am always learning. Always. And that is as it should be.
Aside | This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Excuses…

  1. There's a bird says:

    The quote from JPII reminds me of our parish priest, who once complained of people explaining their reasons for committing sins in the confessional. Obviously, they were convinced that there was some apparent good in what they were doing or they wouldn’t have done it, but they are confessing a sin, nonetheless.

    Which reminds me of the fact that I “resolved” to write a short outline for an examination of conscience to be reviewed every night so that I could actually, thoughtfully, examine my conscience before going to bed. Also, I wanted to be able to examine my conscience before confession each week without thinking, “O…K…what happened on Monday?” because I can hardly keep one day from running into another these days.

    This resolution is more than 2 months old. Thanks for the reminder to actually get it done and proceed with my spiritual life according to the advice of my confessor.

    Whew! I feel better just writing that down. Now…when will I fit it in today…?

    • A. S. Ellis says:

      When will you “fit it in?”

      I’ve asked myself the same question time and again when thinking about what I ought to do, what I said I’d do, what I committed and resolved to doing. Until one day I realized that asking that question was planting a seedling of an excuse. If I am only “fitting” it into my schedule, I haven’t made it the priority I know it ought to be.

      I suspect that is precisely what you were suggesting, as though you wrote it with a knowing grin. 😉

  2. Pingback: Original Excuses! « Ralphie´s Portal

A Penny for Your Thoughts?

